As part of the “In-Country/In-Region Scholarship Programme” DAAD in close collaboration with the GIZ assisted programme “Strengthening Advisory Capacities for Land Governance in Africa (SLGA)” is able to offer scholarships for postgraduate studies within the Network of Excellence for Land Governance in Africa (NELGA)". The programme is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) within the framework of the special initiative “One World – No Hunger”.
For further information on the NELGA please refer to: www.nelga.org/

Who can apply?

  • must be pre-selected by the respective target university;
  • must have completed their last degree not more than six years ago at the time of application;
  • hold a SAQA Certificate of Evaluation or be in the process of obtaining one if they hold a non-South African university degree (only for PLAAS/South-Africa);
  • must be nationals of a Sub-Saharan African country.
Female applicants and candidates from less privileged regions or groups will be especially encouraged to participate in the programme.

What can be funded?

Master and PhD studies at the following universities:

  • KNUST, Department of Land Economy: MSc Land Governance and Policy
  • KNUST, Department of Geomatic Engineering: MSc/MPhil/PhD Geomatic Engineering
  • Ardhi University, Department of Urban and Regional Planning: MSc/PhD Real Estate, Urban Planning, Geomatics

Duration of the funding

The scholarship will initially be awarded for one year only and can be extended annually (or shorter) upon individual request and receipt of a complete application for renewal by the scholarship holders via the DAAD-portal, four months before the scholarship ends latest. The general funding period is up to two years for Master’s and up to three years for the PhD degree programmes.


  • Monthly allowance
  • Study and research allowance
  • Printing allowance
  • Tuition fees
Only applicable for In-Region scholarship holders:
  • Travel allowance
  • Health insurance
For further information, please see the call for applications of the degree programme you wish to apply for.


The selection process differs between the individual degree programmes. Please see the call for applications for further information.

Usually, the application procedure follows a two-step process. First, applicants submit their scholarship application to the host institution. After a pre-selection has been conducted, shortlisted applicants will be asked to submit their application again via the DAAD portal for the final selection.

Further information

For more details and application requirements please refer to your target university:

Please select your status and your country of origin in order to be able to submit an application.

Status and / or country of origin not on these lists?If your status and / or country of origin is not on this list, you cannot apply for this funding programme. In order to only see funding programmes for which you can apply, please select your status and your country of origin in the list of results.